Myohmy I miss Moose

I miss him.

Moose is the Man

Him being Moose. And Moose for the unfamiliar being the traveling Zen samurai cat who spends beaucoup time at my place though he officially belongs to the upstairs neighbor, P.

There’ve been issues, particularly around neglect, between Moose and his owner. (Matter of fact, Moose lost the collar in the dated photo and wears another, sans tag but with bell, provided by moi.) Fortunately for Moose I’ve been there to oversee, intercede and serve as caretaker for first an infected ear followed by an injured leg that left Moose hobbling.

The poor guy. It was heartbreaking to watch.

Long story short, the good news is that P. is working on restoring his relationship with Moose AND Moose goes to the vet today.

He doesn’t need it like he did badly a week ago. His ear is on the mend, thanks to my daily nursing, and what first appeared to be a dislocated or broken paw looks to have been an inflammed sprain and for that I’m joyful.

It’s most reassuring to see his owner stepping up to the plate at my nudgings to care for his creature companion. For the past four days, Moose has been confined inside his patron’s residence– no easy task for this adventuring feline! — toward his physical recovery and their reconnection.

For that I’m extremely happy.

I also however miss him very much. My apartment is just a lousy haunted tired dark campground without his presence. My outdoor window sill is empty without his little collar bell jingling as he hops up and peers in to see whether I’m home.

The hood cats miss him too. Moose is the don and they come ’round my place and window searching. It’s quite funny and a reminder of Moose’s uniqueness and character. He could, if human, command a company of soldiers.

There’s no one like Moose* (*note: I’m not a cat person). He’s a special guy and I love him and miss him and am thrilled he and P. are repairing their relationship.

And I look forward to the day his kitty window is reopened and the tinkle of his bell at my window sill announces: I the magnificent Moose am here.


5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. praxisphotography
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 14:41:27

    Got ya on de Blogroll, thank you help desk 😉

    Reply

  2. Tony
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 11:49:38

    What a beautiful Tomcat..Carmela is ooing and aahing which she does..with cats. I know what you mean about felines and how they become familiar and loved..You no doubt will see the little guy again..hang in there..Peace Tony

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Sep 08, 2010 @ 15:21:56

      To be clear, Moose isn’t a tomcat; he is one heck of a traveling minstrel though and brings much pleasure to the ‘hood. He’s a cat who in so many ways thinks he’s a dog, which makes him cool. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Aussie Emjay
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 16:42:56

    Oh poor guy – I hope he heals quickly and is released back to his roaming. I’m sure he is missing his visits to you too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

