The first and final word on Vox

Vox closing. I’m not cryin’ in my beer or any other beverage.

This puts me evidently in the minority but hear me out. I was with Vox for four years and remember well the active, dynamic and growing community that it was. Then around 2008, things began shifting and sliding, perhaps imperceptibly to the majority, for a variety of reasons, a primary one being Vox neglect.

By 2009 and certainly 2010, the end was in sight. Distressed, I blogged on the dismal state of affairs and demise and the nearer the Grim Reaper’s approach, the greater the frequency of such posts and, personally, my exponentially growing disheartened heart. I can smell death before the cloaked one appears at the door.

Ironically, I hung out the Sorry We’re Closed sign as a temporary (with permanent potential) reprieve from the Vox corpse a month before the site announced it’s pulling the plug. Ironic because I had no foreknowledge, logically, of the pending closure, only my radar and strong intuitive and perceptive abilities guiding me.

So when the announcement was aired, I was neither surprised nor upset. I was relieved. Vox had died long before. I’d already been through the complaining about how crappy things had become, the grieving, the mourning, the sadness, the loss of community and vitality.

The Vox horse was dead and I stopped wasting energy and efforts to revive it. Resurrect it. Or ride it.

It was past time for Vox to get real. And to Tell the Truth. It has done so. Vox finally gave up the ghost. I’m grateful and happy for that. Back to no reason to beat a dead horse.

Vox is in a better place, wherever be that spot where blogsites go to die. I’m in a better place here. And you, if you’re a Vox migrator, are in a better place, whether or not you know it.

Cheers! to what was in the days of yore.

Cheers! to what is fresh and invigorating and to come.

refined cheers!

Cast of Cheers, the TV classic

.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lexiemom
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 19:07:23

    You may not be crying, but I’m in mourning for sure. What “writing on the wall” did you see that I missed?

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Sep 06, 2010 @ 19:31:28

      Hi Lexiemom – There’s no simple or short answer. It’s most challenging, indeed impossible, to explain those processes of observation, intuition and attentiveness; one might sooner try to explain how it is that a tree decays and dies. The clearest and most visible signs were the Vox neglect, ongoing exodus and marked decline in posts from formerly regular bloggers. Hope that helps a little.

      Reply

  2. DJ
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 19:19:29

    Cheers! I have to admit I was somewhat relieved to see that V was closing. As WB (or should I write BB?) wrote, V was done. There were many wonderful people and great writers, but the service just wasn’t there. I drink happily to the memory of those better blogging days, and to the opportunity to move forward into new waters. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Sep 06, 2010 @ 19:39:27

      DJ – Cheers! {clink clink and clink} I’ve always appreciated your astute take on reality – πŸ™‚ – and am please to have you aboard as we sail into these clearer promising waters. P.S. WB, BB, A-OK. πŸ˜€

      Reply

  3. Rev Stan
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 23:32:14

    I second that. Cheers Vox.

    Reply

  4. Tony
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 09:49:09

    Hello..I felt it also..the thing is..I believe it was a research project..the neighborhood thing and the ease with which it was..that was the basic wonder of Vox..far as I can tell everything here is the same..just slower for the size..anyhoo..take care..I have settings to do and blogrolls to roll..Peace Tony

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Sep 07, 2010 @ 11:19:31

      Hey Tony, thanks for commenting. I do believe that in its early days, Vox showed potential and promise. Then that faded as SixApart turned its attention to other interests and moneymaking ventures. Dunno whether you ever sought help/support from them. That was a futile attempt with a capital f! Is the WP platform perfect? ‘Course not but overall it’s fantastic and so is site-available support. Try getting that from 6A! Anyhow, now get back to that blogrolling you. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

