It’s not rocket science

… it only seems so, setting up in new digs and navigating the unfamiliar WordPress.

I got so I could maneuver through Vox and easily chew gum at the same time. As for WordPress, not so sure I’ll achieve that level of sleepwalking; too early to tell after one day.

Compared to Vox, whose oft-used functions lay at the fingertips, or damn near close, WP processes are layered in drop-down menus. At Vox, we created Neighborhoods; here it’s a blogroll — and it’s done via the Dashboard.

To Vox emigrants goin’ huh?, my suggestion is to sit down and poke around and scroll around. There’s strength, power, beauty and freedom in self-education, methinks.

Some new arrivals are asking how do I do this, how do I do that for the most basic tasks rather than availing themselves of the opportunity to explore the terrain and self-instruct. It’s akin to being in a new town and asking: I don’t know where I am. Could you hand me a map. Now read it for me too.

WP presents instructions and basic navigational tools in a logical and understandable fashion (and more thoroughly than did Vox). Get Support is your friend. Go to My Account – Get Support. Lots there and the well-functioning Search Bar is a bonus. Alternatively, a Help button in the upper right corner is within quick reach.

Setting up anew really isn’t daunting. It’s just a matter of taking the time to learn and do. Like surely this fellow did:

And when the brain tires, there’s still this:

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DJ
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 11:24:57

    There is definitely a learning curve here, but I think it’s worth it. WP has a lot of different options available for its free version. I greatly appreciate that. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. lexiemom
    Sep 06, 2010 @ 19:05:40

    Hey, AllyCat a/k/a “Waterbaby”! Glad to find you here.
    This may seem friendly to you, but for those of us computer illiterates (and there are a lot of us out here), Vox was a god-send. I already miss the ease. I definately miss the neighborhood. Don’t miss the spammers & trolls.

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Sep 06, 2010 @ 19:45:43

      lexiemom – Curious, how’d you manage to find me? Yes, the Vox platform was simple; perhaps you’ll want to embrace the WP counterpart as an opportunity to learn, grow and develop new skills?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

