Cook one’s own porridge, I say!

… or I would, were I of Hindu culture.

I love language and cultures. God save my soul me but I do.

Idioms are challenging, sometimes impossible, to translate and yet rather fun and entertaining. Check out these Hindi ones:

To sound out your throat: to boast.

There's some black in the dhal: There's more than meets the eye.

Chicken cooked at home is equivalent to dhal: A prophet is seldom accepted in his own country.

Bore holes in the plate that feeds you: to bite the hand that feeds you.

Milk will remain milk; water will remain water: Justice will be served.

When the birds have taken away the harvest: It’s useless to cry over spilled milk.

To cook one’s own porridge: to each his own.

To become enmeshed in a tangle of “ifs” and “buts”: to stall.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

