that’s phat! (err, fat?)

Take a look at this menu and identify its primary element.

Take a good look, there's a phat prize if you're correct:

Chicken Strips                          $7.95  (AU 10.6 EU 5.9)
Coconut Prawns                       $7.95
Buffalo or Thai Wings               $7.95
Spring Rolls & Potstickers        $7.95
Cheese Sticks                           $7.95
BBQ Pork                                  $7.95

{tick tick tick tick tick}

If you spotted that all but one are fried foods, congratulations! Private message your address and I’ll get photo right to you.

The kitchen where I work is normally open for meals and room service from 5 to 10 p.m.

Due to events tonight and tomorrow night, including a concert at the neighboring dome, the hours are extended to midnight.

And from about 8 p.m. on, the post-concert menu replaces the regular menu that includes dishes like:

Soup of the Day   
Small Caesar Salad       
Grilled Chicken Caesar Salad
Hamburger
Grilled Chicken Fettuccini

In other words, the post-concert menu puts me in Grease City.

I missed that whole deep fat fryer fast-food thang in my youth; my first food job was making pies at Shakey’s Pizza. Jobs subsequent, not one has involved a deep fat fryer, and until yesterday, I'd never used one.

I’m not complaining, neither do I feel my life is any poorer for the lack of fry experience.

In the next two nights, I’ll be making up for all those lost years. Saturday night is the Fleetwood Mac concert, we could be slammed. I’m thinking of arriving out of my crisp white button-down chef’s coat and in this:

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

