soup’s on!

"Anyone want a cauliflower?"

That's the question posed at my Tuesday evening women's circle a couple weeks ago. Somehow one of the facilitators had inherited a good half dozen heads of the lumpy white florets.

"Sure, I'll take one," I respond, my mind already purring with an idea.

I'd been craving Indian spices, specifically tumeric.

My veggie had curried cream of cauliflower soup written all over before it even hit the pot.

I sussed out recipes online till I found the one that touched my taste buds with that precise zing!

So very simple this recipe. Fragrant. Delish results.
 
The pic I snagged from the Net as I don't have a camera. The resemblance is remarkable.

I had the bread as well. Well, not the bread you see. Because that bread's actually edible.

Mine was solid as a boulder. You could build a doll house using my bread as bricks.

The result of a sourdough loaf sitting too long in its brown paper bag in a cupboard. I'm not a bread eater so it takes an eternity to go through a loaf. So I typically keep bread in the fridge except that doesn't work with sourdough.

So bread stored out ends up going bad and to the birds. I just lost a dozen bagels to mold because I chanced keeping them out. The gulls and crows inhaled 'em right up.

Normally I wouldn't even have a loaf of sourdough except I got it for free for answering a survey at a market.

Worked out okay. Didn't crack any of my dental work of thousands upon thousands of dollars once the pieces, which I practically had to whack off with a hammer, had enjoyed a long soak in curried cream of cauliflower soup. And I figure between the free cauliflower and bread, the meal covering four days cost all of 50 cents (.769 AU; .392 EU) — can I live on the cheap or what?!

Bon appetit! to the eyes of all.

Curried Cream of Cauliflower Soup

1 tbsp. olive oil
1 small onion, finely chopped
1 tbsp. ground cumin
1 tbsp. curry powder
1 tsp. turmeric
1 medium-sized head of cauliflower, separated into florets and washed
1/2 tomato, chopped finely
5 or 6 cups of chicken or vegetable stock
1/2 cup 18% cream (or light coconut milk) — I used half-and-half, a bit over half a cup as I wanted it on the creamier side; adjust liquids to taste
juice of 1 lime – no lime, did without
salt to taste

   1. Heat olive oil in a large pot. Add onion and cook until translucent, about 5 minutes. Add spice, stir and cook until until fragrant, about 1 minute.

   2. Add cauliflower florets and tomato and stir to coat in spices. Allow to cook to a minute or two, then add the stock. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat, cover and simmer until cauliflower is quite tender, about 20 minutes.

   3. With an immersion blender, blend the soup until smooth. Add cream, lime juice and salt and adjust to taste. If you prefer chunky, skip the blender.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

