Along with a job, I need a new identity

I may have to assume a second identity.

This occurs to me each day I download e-mail from my server into my e-mail program — Eudora, btw, love it!

I get anywheres between 250 and 1,000 spams a day. Really, I rejoice when it's 250. Imagine that! Happy to get 250 pieces of garbage!

My e-mail server's in Tokyo. You'd think their technology would be state of the art because of the Japanese excellence in electronics and technology and automobiles too. It ain't by accident that I drive, and will drive only, a Japanese car.

But I digress. My server just isn't on the ball with filters. A good half of what flows into my in box is crap from other countries bearing foreign charcters in the headers that could be Russian. Or Ukrainian.

лестнице нормально столицы мною любил.
хотите общество лишь вчера большую.
моего иду свои вещи думает.

Any way you write it, it's still garbage.

I've talked with them about it. Not much response in terms of a fix, obviously.

I've been with the server a long time, starting with my life in Japan, so guesstimated 10 years. These floods of spam haven't always been present, otherwise I'd have dumped this server long ago. But as technology has progressed, so has evolved its darker side, which includes spamming.

Anywho, I pay around 40, 45 bucks a year to maintain my e-mail account.

I do this for two reasons.

One, I really like my addy. It suits me. It's got a ring to it, kinda rolls off the tongue, is short, uncluttered by numbers, odd spellings or punctuation, easy to remember. People over the years have said they like it too.

Two, I move a fucking lot. There's no way anyone can keep up with the address changes. I can't either. I've got slips of paper tucked inside my wallet with my present address as well as the four preceding 'cause no way in hell can I remember 'em!

Long as the e-mail remains consistent, people can still find me. It's the only way they can. I'm dead serious. Not to mention a decade's worth of e-mail registrations around the Web. How can you possibly retrace those steps to submit a change of address?

Paying for the daily grief of an average 500 junk mails doesn't feel right. BTW, you can only imagine the terror that going two, three days without checking e-mail brings. Such was the case recently. Was so busy with a move that I didn't have time to get online. When I did, I was in my e-mail Hazmat suit. Some 1,500 poured in! Accumulated in less than a 48-hour period!

I'm very e-mail savvy. Sometimes I go directly onto the server and delete there. It's time consuming because sprinkled in the shit spams are legit messages, so it's a sifting through page after page, but that disallows the torrent into my laptop.

When I'm not up for that, I reluctantly open my e-mail and watch the tsunami roll in. I create filter after filter after filter after filter ad infinitum. But there's just no way to stay on top of, or step ahead of, the spammer turds.

I am though fond of the addy and like that people have one way of finding this gypsy nomad girl.

My account renewal's nearing and I'm seriously, and sadly, considering bidding sayonara to my longtime server. Not from desire but necessity; just can't find a compelling reason to continue with this much less pay for it.

Of course neither my addy nor its uncomplicated tweaked versions are available at the servers I've been checking out.

Which leaves me, should I make the move and I'm leaning that direction, in need of an entirely different addy and identity.

Reason this matter made it onto the blog today? My e-mail server's down.

Which means when it's back up, the dam'll open, unleashing torrent of crap. I'm predicting upwards of a thousand pieces. Will let you know.

Update: Server up; about 350 mails. Pretty good!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a comment