a potpourri. {sans the pot. :-(}

A dash o’ this, a splash o’ that and voila! a blog post.

Stuck in the Mind with Mike

“Stuck in the Middle With You” by Stealer Wheels just popped up on Pandora radio. I can’t listen without vivid images of the cop-in-the-warehouse scene and the dancing malicious Mike Madsen, playing Mr. Blonde, in Tarantino’s “Reservoir Dogs.” A film I’ve watched around 30 times, btw.

The power of music to meld with images and burn them into the brain’s amazing.

Goodwill jobs: My Rolls of Toilet Paper

I subscribe to the Goodwill (thrift store) jobs feed. I don’t know why. The jobs are menial and low paying and chiefly for youths — food service, retail and the sort. Also they’re typically in distant areas of Denver, thus impractical even were I in the menial job market.

I maintain the feed for the same reason that people who lived through the Great Depression horde toilet paper or string. When times have been that hard, when you’ve been truly that depleted, down and out and without, you cling to that single source that represents security, wealth or value. Might be a can of food, a roll of toilet paper, the Goodwill jobs feed. I’ll never forget the years and years of joblessness. I can’t. It’s within cellular memory like the Depression for my family members.

And btw, yes, I still actually read the Goodwill jobs. The terror of unemployment and homelessness never fades.

What inspired those revelations was a Goodwill posting today. “There’s something I’d like,” I thought when I read it. Job schedule prevents participation plus the worksites are at considerable distance. Nonetheless, something kinda different that I’d enjoy (and would be likely to land given my sorry extended food-service experience):

“Edible Arrangements (in x-locations) are in need of help this Mother’s Day making and delivering our beautiful arrangements.

No experience needed, but priority consideration will be given to applicants that have worked in commercial food environments before. Main job duties will include cutting, peeling, and skewering fruit, dipping fruit in chocolate, and light cleaning.

DRIVERS also needed to deliver our arrangements to recipients located around our stores. Must have reliable car & GPS.

Must be available to start work at 8 a.m., be available everyday between May 9 – May 14 and be on your feet throughout the day.”

Arbeit Macht Frei. Not to Mention Fatigue

I’ve been working a long and altered schedule due to my supervisor’s vacation. I’ve had two days off in two weeks.

Additionally, I’ve been putting in extra hours to make up time lost to handle a medical emergency. An emergency where the outcome could’ve gone one of two ways, the second being devastating physically and financially.

Fortunately the examination results were in my favor and I was/am elated. Not to mention profoundly relieved.

Honestly, I just don’t need more hardship in life. I truly do not.

So a crisis with a happy ending. The only sort of crisis I like. :)

Anywho, my supervisor’s now back, returning my schedule to normal. I need rest. I need sleep. I need NOT to see the workplace for a while.

Plus I’m growing increasingly bored and restless there. NOT an invitation or prompt to universe to lose said job! But that’s another topic. Just sayin’ …

The Seer Speaks

Regular readers will recall my prognostications in late 2011 on sweeping changes come March. They came to pass. Presently sister intuitions are traversing my system, with June and July the featured focal points. I can’t explain it, neither predict what form the big changes will take; I write this only as a record.

I also have a gut prediction about the presidential race (Romney vs. Obama) in November. I’m not ready to go public; if and when the time’s right, I will.

If I’m still blogging then. Again, another subject …

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Flamingo Dancer
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 00:52:16

    I also like the new header

    Reply

  2. allycatadventures
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 09:20:59

    @FD – Thanks. It bee a good header. ;)

    Reply

  3. katie
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 10:24:32

    It’s impossible not to associate that Stealer’s Wheel song with Reservoir Dogs. Great movie. That’s back when Quentin Tarantino was making good movies(Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction of course..then he lost the plot a bit.) I liked Inglorious Basterds, though.

    Reply

  4. longeyesamurai
    Apr 28, 2012 @ 17:57:36

    I wonder whether the “pourri” is in regards to your last point. :-)
    Knowing your feelings towards one of the two, I can’t wait to see how will feel about the results. “Plus ├ža change, plus c’est pareil”

    Michael Madsen, recently in the news for the wrong reasons, is one of the reasons I liked Reservoir Dogs, and I still wish his TV Show, Vengeance Unlimited, comes out on DVD.

    And hey don’t jinx what could be the start of an epic streak…

    Reply

    • allycatadventures
      Apr 29, 2012 @ 09:39:05

      @capra – pourri: the purring sound made by a cat with a cleft palate. Yeah, often you can sense the qualities of a person beneath the (movie) character; Michael Madsen’s one such fella. He’s edgy in movies, he’s edgy in real life. :)
      {BTW, jinx, how, rather where so in the post?}

      Reply

  5. longeyesamurai
    Apr 30, 2012 @ 04:40:04

    “pourri: purring sound made by a cat with a cleft palate” curse my Gallic tongue, and here I thought it had to with Denmark :-)

    PS The jinx was about the crisis with an happy ending. Such a rare event.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

